Reviews

Reviews

Compton House of Fashion
4.9
powered by Facebook
Jo Robertson
Jo Robertson
2017-03-20T21:02:58+0000
Excellent service. Jo couldn't do enough to make my visit special. The dress, jacket and hat I bought fitted beautifully. The quality of the fabric made the dress feel amazing on. I am sure it will look amazing at my sons wedding
Geoff Ward
Geoff Ward
2017-03-12T14:14:48+0000
I visited Compton House of Fashion on Friday 10th March looking for an outfit to wear to my younger sons wedding. I came away very happy with a complete outfit and cannot thank the staff enough for their patient help and advice. I would thoroughly recommend 'Compton House' to anyone.
Caz Brown
Caz Brown
2017-03-10T15:57:37+0000
Jan Robinson
Jan Robinson
2017-03-06T17:01:05+0000
Thank you to Jo, who made my third time at Compton House of Fashion , just as amazing as the first two trips. She was patient, friendly gave excellent customer service. I have come back with another beautiful outfit. My daughter in law and friends had a really fun time, finished off with a cream tea �
Faith Kendall
Faith Kendall
2017-02-28T09:46:22+0000
I visited Compton House one week ago to choose a Mother of the bride outfit. Special thanks to Diane who was amazing, she was so helpful and patient , nothing was too much trouble.I now have a lovely outfit for my Daughter's wedding in May. I would highly recommend this shop - the service was brilliant.
Ruthie Middle
Ruthie Middle
2017-02-24T18:43:51+0000
I can't thank Jo enough for what she did for me last Saturday. I have been going through a bit of a hard time over the last 15 months & last Saturday I was really down, but by the end of the day I felt much happier as I had an outfit for my daughter's wedding in July & I looked & felt good. I am not on the small side & have been trying to lose weight but not as much as I'd hoped due to bereavement & stress & my confidence was nonexistent. Jo was so caring & took time to listen to what I was looking for and got me to try outfits that I didn't think would suit me but actually did & helped me feel good about myself. She turned my tears into smiles. Thank you so very much Jo you are one amazing lady.
Alison Bushell
Alison Bushell
2017-02-24T09:49:04+0000
I was recommended by a friend to visit this shop for an outfit for my son's wedding. I was busy telling her in the car on our two drive there that I was NOT going to buy as it was my first foray into finding a dress, it was purely a looking exercise! Two hours later after the most fantastic help from Liz I was the proud owner of a beautiful outfit complete with hat. She was really lovely, ran around bringing me dress after dress, seemed to know the stock really well and what would suit me, never pressurised and allowed lots of photos to be taken that I could send to my son for approval! She even plugged me in to their wifi as the signal was not very strong in this lovely old building. The range of stock (over 1000 outfits), range of colours and sizes is truly impressive, all under one roof, so unlike going up to London, you do not have to trail around different shops. I hate shopping generally, but this was a wonderful experience. However, then disaster struck and I had a sleepless night, as the outfit I had chosen was not right for the bride's colours! I immediately telephoned the shop, Wendy was very reassuring, told me to come back, I had 28 days and a full credit. I went back again, this time helped by Philippa, who was equally lovely and patient. I tried on practically every dress in the shop, but have come away with an outfit that I, and more to the point, my son, like even better! Sorry this is rather a long review and I rarely write them, but I was so impressed with this shop and the ladies who helped me and I cannot thank them enough. Wonderful experience, even a nice coffee shop through a little door, all matching accessories available and Philippa told me where I could get shoes dyed to match. Thank you Liz, Philippa and Wendy.
Alana Christina Cosker
Alana Christina Cosker
2017-02-20T15:34:24+0000
What a wonderful experience....staff were extremely friendly,knowledgeable and helpful. The ranges of dresses, hats, accessories and shoes were phenomenal.....you will not be disappointed visiting this place as there is honestly a outfit for everyone in this gem of a shop!
Barbara Harris
Barbara Harris
2017-02-20T11:11:12+0000
The clothes were a bit intimidating for someone who largely wears leggings and jeans. Staff were very helpful and supportive though,
Fiona McFarlane
Fiona McFarlane
2017-02-18T15:56:42+0000
Im writing this on behalf of my Mum, who visited last Monday and was so impressed with the staff, shop layout and variety of stock. Philippa was extremely helpful and professional, making her feel very comfortable and at ease whilst trying various outfits on. Having travelled over two hours, she was glad it was a successful visit and well worth the journey.
Marguerite Daniel
Marguerite Daniel
2017-02-17T12:25:14+0000
I visited the shop on Monday 13th February 2017 in search of a Mother of the Bride outfit. It was very busy & I felt it would have been better to have booked an appointment. However, that said, the staff were lovely & all of them so helpful & attentive. As mentioned by others, the shop is arranged by colours so it was easy to look for what I had in mind. I tried several outfits on & nothing was too much trouble. We went out for a cup of tea & went back again to purchase my outfit. Thanks very much Compton House of Fashion. I shall probably be back for my accessories!!
Charlotte Louise
Charlotte Louise
2017-02-13T09:10:24+0000
Thank you Compton House! Jo was excellent, she quickly understood what i was looking for and importantly, what sort of outfit suited me the best. I'm thrilled with my outfit - looking even more forward to my daughters wedding in June! Thanks again. Sandra Jones.
Celia Davies
Celia Davies
2017-02-11T19:29:08+0000
An incredible shop with an amazing selection of dress particularly in my size 8/10! The staff were so helpful not pushy suggesting different outfits to try nothing was too much trouble and they have the patience of saints! I came out with an amazing outfit and a hat with the wow factor, which normally I would not have even tried on! My second son is getting married in the autumn and I shall return.
Rosemary Penny
Rosemary Penny
2017-02-07T09:22:14+0000
What a joy to visit a shop with such a huge range of stock to choose from, I had an idea which outfit would suit me but Jo (2) suggested that I try additional styles before deciding on my choice. All the staff are extremely helpful and at no time did I feel under pressure to make a purchase, I was asked if I had a budget in mind which is a kind consideration but I knew before my visit I was happy to pay a higher price than on the high street for such a special occasion as my sons wedding.
Jeremy David Walton
Jeremy David Walton
2017-02-05T12:22:02+0000
Loved on behalf of Deborah Parrett: top service for a wedding dress. Recommended
Jacqueline Da-san Martino
Jacqueline Da-san Martino
2017-02-03T15:13:32+0000
I visited Compton House yesterday (after a 2hr drive) for an outfit for my daughter's wedding. I had initially phoned to ask about a specific dress. When I arrived I was very impressed with such a wonderful selection of outfits. I chose my outfit and the assistant (Wendy) was extremely helpful especially with choosing the right hat. The hat was a different make to the dress so she said to go downstairs into the daylight for her to ensure that the colours matched, which they did perfectly. She certainly had a lot of patience with me regarding hatinators and hats. The whole experience was very relaxed, excellent service and I would highly recommend them to anyone. In fact, I have today told the mother of the groom about the shop.
Jemma Jewell
Jemma Jewell
2017-02-02T20:38:59+0000
Visited here a couple of days ago to choose a MOB outfit and my mum and I thought the service and selection was fantastic! We were served by Liz who was the perfect amount helpful. She offered advice on style and colour without being pushy or overbearing. We never felt pressured to purchase or at all rushed even though mum tried on A LOT of outfits. Both mum and I had a lovely day and would highly recommend the shop to those looking for that special occasion outfit.
Chris Griffiths
Chris Griffiths
2017-01-31T15:54:00+0000
Having looked around in South Wales I was disappointed with the choice of Mother of the Bride outfits on sale. I wanted something with a strong colour. My friends and I made the journey to Compton House of Fashion yesterday and I couldn't be more pleased. Tanya was very welcoming, understood immediately what I was looking for and very quickly picked out a couple of things for me to try. Within half an hour I had made my decision and now can't wait for my daughters wedding in July.
Mary Langley
Mary Langley
2017-01-30T20:41:54+0000
We had such a friendly greeting which made us feel so at ease. Jo attended to us in an extremely efficient, professional and friendly manner. Although the dress which I thought I wanted wasn't available, this certainly didn't faze Jo who found several suitable dresses for me to try, finally arriving at the 'perfect' one for me. I am a senior bride, I couldn't have asked for a more comfortable experience and I have already recommended a visit to Compton House of Fashion to two close friends. Very many thanks.
Caroline Joy
Caroline Joy
2017-01-27T18:57:05+0000
I was here in 2014 for my daughters wedding and I'm now going to head back as my daughter gets married in April. We travel 2 hours and trust me it's worth it. There are so many choices and the staff are all so helpful and friendly. I'm looking forward to my visit in a few weeks �
Hazel Harding
Hazel Harding
2017-01-25T11:22:43+0000
Compton House has been my favourite shop for very special outfits for a number of years. On Saturday the 14th January I made a visit to buy a wedding outfit for the my brothers wedding in April and a wedding in Canada in October. Again I was not disappointed I was welcomed, helped and advised without feeling rushed. I came away with a beautiful dress which I feel comfortable in and feel very special. A big thank you the staff are a credit to Compton House. Best wishes Hazel Harding
Sammie Taylor
Sammie Taylor
2017-01-22T08:33:43+0000
My mother in law to be asked me to write a review as she doesnt have facebook. She was initailly worried about shopping for a dress as wanted to do at her own pace and didnt want to feel like someone was just trying to sell her something. She visited twice and both times she felt really relaxed and didnt feel any pressure at all. The lady on the first visit was great with constructive feedback which really narrowed down a colour and a fit. She bought her dress for the wedding on the second visit off of the back of a recommendation from the lady on the first visit of a dress they had coming in. She is really very pleased. Would easily recommend!! Xx
Caroline Lloyd
Caroline Lloyd
2017-01-20T17:40:17+0000
I decided to visit Compton House after seeing it on the internet and from a recommendation of a friend who had her outfit with you last year. I visited on my own intending just to have a browse as this was my first outing for a 'Mother of the Groom' dress! I was very impressed with the sheer amount of outfits in every shade of colour across all size ranges. Immense selection, and being able to try on my actual size rather than guessing what it would look like from a smaller or larger outfit was perfect. Diane was so attentive and not a bit 'pushy', she was so tactful and so helpful. Diane helped me 'weed' out what didn't suit me and encouraged me to try all designs so I had the best from my visit. After over two hours I finally found my dress but the time flew and I am not normally a happy shopper! But this experience was something else, so calm and I didn't break out into a sweat at all! Normally I am the type to buy it and try at home as I hate the undressing and dressing of a changing room. But the shop is spacious and not claustrophobic. I left with my dress and large (very large) hat extremely pleased with myself. HOWEVER the icing on the cake came when I found the hat I had brought home had a slight flaw, I photographed it and emailed the shop that same night with the details of what was wrong. The next day I received a call first thing from Wendy who was so apologetic and said another hat would be in the post straightaway which I received 2 days later in perfect condition? I have worked in Customer Service for 39 years, and this last act proved Compton House is a cut above the others. My experience with the faulty hat could have been a long drawn out fight for my shoppers rights but instead it was so easy and stress free. Thank you everyone one! I cannot praise you enough, you have got it just right. Lots of choice, in lots of colours and sizes, friendly easy to communicate with staff and an owner who has the customer's at the heart of her business! Keep up the fantastic work.
Janet McClean
Janet McClean
2017-01-09T13:47:43+0000
Two day ago my daughter and I went to buy and outfit for me for her wedding. We eventually narrowed it down to two. I came away with the wild card which my daughter chose. It has gone done a storm on a bridal website. Over 1,000 comments, many saying I should have both! Dozens asked for details of shop, so be prepared girls. Thank you all for your help and kindness.
Penny Cox
Penny Cox
2016-12-31T16:52:24+0000
This was my second visit to Compton House. Jo assisted me in finding the outfit that suited me and fitted the best. There is a huge choice of dresses and the staff are very good at making the visit a pleasurable experience. I am now ready for the February wedding. Thank you ladies