Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Compton House of Fashion
4.9
powered by Facebook
Izzy Lomas
Izzy Lomas
2018-04-10T12:16:35+0000
A truly wonderful experience and made to feel very special by the lovely ladies who assisted. I felt honest opinions were given which is just what you need when buying such an important outfit. I left Compton House feeling very exited with what I had purchased and cannot wait to wear it. Thank you ladies.
Elizabeth Adams
Elizabeth Adams
2018-03-20T15:33:49+0000
A fabulous shopping experience like nothing I have ever experienced before. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Liz was amazing so knowledgeable and knew exactly what would be best for me.
Karen Heard
Karen Heard
2018-03-07T16:02:07+0000
I so enjoyed the time I spent at Compton House of Fashion, nothing was too much trouble, the staff were helpful and friendly, and at no time did I feel pressurised into making a purchase. A vast range of beautiful outfits, hats and accessories
Michaela McCartney
Michaela McCartney
2018-02-18T11:39:46+0000
Donna Humphreys
Donna Humphreys
2018-02-11T20:10:09+0000
Visited last December 2017 for mother of the bride. Excellent service went down for one dress which I fancied online but didn’t like it on, so browsed through the items they had which was plentiful. Decided on another dress of which I bought. The staff were excellent they we really helpful didn’t feel pressured into buying anything. I would recommend them
Lianne Harris
Lianne Harris
2018-02-07T22:47:42+0000
Thank you to Phillipa for helping my mum find the perfect mother of the bride outfit for my wedding later this year. After visiting the store a couple of years ago for my sisters wedding & receiving outstanding service we knew this was the only place to shop. Honest opinions, no pressure & plenty of outfits to try.
Denise Taylor
Denise Taylor
2018-01-31T21:54:23+0000
After speaking to Diane and having not such a good experience in another shop local to me, I decided to make the 2hr trip to Compton Fashions. The shop was an Aladdin’s cave full of every colour scheme with matching Hat any mother of the bride could wish for. The service we received from Jo was exceptional and I could tell as soon as I walked through the door she knew exactly what would suit me and what sort of outfit I was looking for. I would highly recommend the trip for any other mother of the bride needing that special outfit.
Judy Kendall
Judy Kendall
2018-01-31T00:16:49+0000
Had a warm welcome as soon as we arrived. Given lots of friendly advice on choosing my outfits to try on! Fantastic selection dresses, jackets, hats, bags & shoes. With many gorgeous colours to choose from. So chuffed with my mother of the bride outfit. Dress, Jacket, hat, shoes & bag. Would like to thank Adele for being so patient & giving me advice helping me choose my gorgeous outfit!!! ❤️👰🏻🎉🍾🎩🍸XXXXXXX
Stace Madeley
Stace Madeley
2018-01-30T10:01:29+0000
What a wonderful place! The staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble and they give you all the time in the world. No pressure to purchase, full of compliments and genuine opinions. As you walk in, the selection looks ok but not amazing. But then you see the balcony and then walking upstairs and see two further rooms, you realise just how vast the choice is. The colour selection and designers and the easy to view sizes available in that colour and various designs. Wish we had found this place sooner. It was only by word of mouth from a friend where we live, in Devon, that we found this absolute gem in a beautiful little village. The whole experience was stress free the staff actually made it enjoyable. The most stressful decision being which dress to buy! That day we had a new trainee help as a runner and she was very pleasant. Janette was the lady who helped my mum and she was fab! Honestly this place is absolute gold if you are looking for a Mother of the Bride/Groom or occasion wear. It was also nice to go shopping for a wedding outfit that didn’t include mainly wedding dresses. Speaking to a lovely member of staff I learnt this is independently owned and has been going for 25 years and it is so clear to see why. Thank you for a joyous couple of hours!
Julie Betts
Julie Betts
2018-01-27T19:10:49+0000
Had a lovely afternoon with lovely ladies choosing a lovely dress. So so helpful Thank you to you all ��
Jane Anstee Thurlow
Jane Anstee Thurlow
2018-01-23T16:08:41+0000
Alison Tong
Alison Tong
2018-01-20T20:00:55+0000
Jo was absolutely amazing today, I went today looking for a very ‘simple’ understated mother of the bride outfit and left with the most beautiful Ian Stuart dress with matching hat, shoes and bag. Without your guidance and encouragement I would never have even tried it on ! Thank you � Alison xx
Dulce Filipe
Dulce Filipe
2018-01-19T23:40:49+0000
Carolyn Scriven
Carolyn Scriven
2018-01-15T18:26:34+0000
So glad I came here, I cannot be happier with my outfit worth every penny! It was such a great experience Liz was so patient with me and my goodness picked up my likes quickly and also guided me in making the right choice without making me feel awkward! Will post photos after the wedding I promise!
Keith Wright
Keith Wright
2018-01-12T16:40:53+0000
My son is getting married in 5 weeks time so I needed a mother of the groom outfit. Adele was fantastic at helping me, showing me ideas which I hadn't thought of and suggesting accessories. I spent an unhurried, pleasant time there and came away very satisfied with my purchases. I have no hesitation in recommending the shop to any mother of the bride / groom or indeed anyone looking for a special occasion outfit. Olivia
Linda Fletcher
Linda Fletcher
2018-01-12T13:10:22+0000
Fantastic selection of outfits and wonderful service. Definitely will recommend to my friends.
Sharon Speller
Sharon Speller
2018-01-10T08:10:24+0000
This is the second time I have visited Crompton House for a wedding outfit for one of my children's weddings.The staff are very friendly and offer advice without being at all pushy. I was allowed plenty of time and offered many choices before reaching the final choice of the first outfit I tried on. I would like to send a special thankyou to Diane for helping me with my enquiries by telephone and on the day of my visit for being so patient and helpful.
Cathy Traynor
Cathy Traynor
2017-12-14T11:44:28+0000
I had a wonderful experience shopping for a Mother of the Bride dress at Compton House. Philippa was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. She was very honest, which I appreciated, and we discounted a number of dresses as the colour wasn't right. There was no pressure to buy, which is refreshing. I came away with a beautiful dress, perfect for the occasion and I can't wait to wear it. I am so grateful for her help and I would highly recommend a trip to Compton House
Janet Lake
Janet Lake
2017-12-04T14:38:11+0000
A lovely visit to this beautiful shop. very friendly helpful staff and a great selection of clothes. A must visit for a Wedding !!
Delia Brandwood
Delia Brandwood
2017-12-02T17:41:47+0000
Compton House of Fashion is an absolute treasure of a shop. Wide selection of outfits, welcoming & helpful staff. I had no particular style or colour in mind but Julia, with her well-trained eye knew immediately what would suit me. Several styles & colours later, I left the store with her initial selection plus matching hat, one very satisfied mother of the bride for my daughters wedding in South Africa. Thank you Julia. I heartily recommend Compton House. Well worth travelling the extra mile!
Catherine Burnell
Catherine Burnell
2017-11-12T01:03:12+0000
Made the journey from Cardiff after looking online, phoning and emailing with questions! What a fabulous experience. So many different colours and styles to chose from. Thanks so much to Phillipa for her patience and help along with Wendy, both of whom gave advice and opinions on various outfits and helped me choose my outfit for my daughter's wedding next month. I absolutely love it and can't wait to wear it! Thanks again.
Sara Hambley
Sara Hambley
2017-11-06T21:33:16+0000
Cannot recommend Compton House enough, we had the most amazing experience here. Nothing was to much trouble and there was no pressure to buy! The selection is huge with an incredible range of colours! All the staff are really friendly. Big thank you to Jo and Wendy who helped my Mum find the perfect outfit. She looks stunning and is completely over the moon. Thank you so much
Michelle Ash
Michelle Ash
2017-11-01T15:47:22+0000
Lovely staff and plenty of choice for the mother of the bride. Well worth the trip from Bristol, very helpful, when we walked in felt very welcoming. We ended up with the first outfit that they choose for us to try on, as it really suited my mothers colouring. It is also an outfit that she can mixed and match for other occasions.. All the staff were complimentary and gave my mum the confidence when trying on lots of outfits. I am so looking forward to seeing my mother in her outfit on my wedding day in a months time. Thank you so much.
Pam Kilpatrick
Pam Kilpatrick
2017-10-18T11:06:20+0000
I came over from France especially to visit this shop but was not sure if I would find anything, how wrong I was. Julia was amazing and so helpful I am really pleased with my purchase and I am now looking forward to my sons wedding.I would highly recommend
Rebecca Tomkins
Rebecca Tomkins
2017-10-02T06:33:58+0000
Claudemariepierrette ChtxAdr
Claudemariepierrette ChtxAdr
2017-09-30T15:22:24+0000
I'M french... and I bought my outfit and hat by internet from France ... just with the help of Wendy by email !!!wendy was so kind with me, she guided me in my choice! she was very patient and always overly nice in her answers despite my very bad English!... so thank you so much !! I love this shop ..I recommend hightly !!my outfit what amazing !!you can buy with serenity and trust! (Confiance) !
Ruth Baker
Ruth Baker
2017-09-28T00:12:10+0000
I had such an enjoyable experience at Compton House recently when I went to buy a dress for my 80th birthday lunch.Nothing was too much trouble for the attentive staff. Their suggestions and advice were so helpful and the choice of was dresses really impressive. it was my first choice of shop when I wanted something special and I was not disappointed. Thank you Compton House and all you delightful ladies!
Zoë Dearmer
Zoë Dearmer
2017-09-23T19:18:14+0000
Fabulous shopping experience today with amazing assistance from the lovely Liz and Adele. Thank you for helping my Mum find a stunning outfit for my wedding in December!x
Diane Francis
Diane Francis
2017-09-22T10:41:33+0000
Helen George
Helen George
2017-09-10T19:29:24+0000
Excellent service and wonderful people. Great outfits that have been looked after as they should, be not like other shops where the dresses didn't look perfect condition. Can't wait to go again to get another outfit.
Sophie Eyles
Sophie Eyles
2017-09-02T12:42:26+0000
On behalf of my mum, Yvonne Eyles: "Many thanks to Philippa for her friendly and professional help and advice. She made choosing my mother of the bride outfit a really pleasurable experience and was very patient, allowing me to take my time before making my final choice. It was particularly helpful to be able to try on shoes and hats at the same time for the complete effect and to be offered useful tips on how to contrast or match items for maximum impact. Once again many thanks- and wedding hats off to Philippa!"
Sylvia Knight
Sylvia Knight
2017-09-01T15:36:11+0000
A very big thankyou to Julia today for her wonderful expertise and patience in finding me a lovely outfit for my Grandsons wedding which is only three weeks away, Wonderful service
Sally Hartnell
Sally Hartnell
2017-08-26T04:58:26+0000
Having searched the High Street for weeks I could find nothing to wear for my daughter's wedding. I was recommended to Compton House. I am so glad. An amazing collection of beautiful outfits, the service was second to none and I came away with the perfect outfit for which I received many compliments on the day.
Alison Blight
Alison Blight
2017-08-25T15:54:21+0000
What can I say about my experience with this shop. Firstly I cannot recommend this place enough had wonderful time and nothing was to much trouble. Julia especially made me feel special what a fantastic person she is. Her selecion of dresses she chose for me were spot on her help was invaluable. I had to travel quite a way but honestly worth the trip has I come away with a mother of the groom outfit that wasn't only beautiful but worth the money. your looking a outfit for any occasion I would highly recommend this shop friendly, helpful and gorgeous dresses.
Catherine Lacey
Catherine Lacey
2017-08-21T17:37:56+0000
Visited a couple of weeks ago for a mother of the bride outfit and was totally convinced a certain style wouldn't suit me, Adele was brilliant, very friendly and patient, and convinced me to try a couple of the different styles and yes I bought a fabulous outfit and hat, the one that I didn't think would look right, thanks to Adele, massive selection and colours, would suggest anyone could visit here and come away with an amazing outfit, well done Compton House and their lovely staff
Angela Knight
Angela Knight
2017-08-12T19:22:09+0000
My daughter and I visited yesterday to find an outfit for my son's wedding. We were greeted by Tanya who went through the many racks of beautiful outfits picking out many for me to try. I eventually picked one but it needed some alterations she then bought this other dress which fitted perfectly and made me feel very elegant especially with the matching hat. So I am sorted and would thoroughly recommend the experience as nothing was too much trouble. Thank you. Angela
Diane Hewer
Diane Hewer
2017-08-02T12:12:50+0000
Visited this wonderful shop on Saturday to purchase an outfit for my daughters wedding. We were greeted by Adele who looked after us. She was brilliant, she brought me dresses that I would never have thought of trying on. We tried fasinators and hatinators, nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend for choice and help. Thanks very much.
Maureen Heiden
Maureen Heiden
2017-07-31T16:27:17+0000
Wonderful shop and Diane was so helpful and extremely knowledgeable. I came away with a lovely outfit for my Daughter Katie's wedding. Diane was very patient- nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend Compton house of fashion.
Hayley Goldacre
Hayley Goldacre
2017-07-17T16:23:58+0000
We popped in on Saturday to look for a Mother of the Bride outfit for my lovely mum. I'd just like to say how much we enjoyed our experience. All the ladies made us feel really welcome as soon as we arrived. Philippa was so helpful. She got mum to try a few outfits in her comfort zone at first, which were all lovely but I have to say, we left with a gorgeous outfit she would never usually have tried! I've never seen her so happy and confident, exactly how every bride would love their mum to feel on her wedding day. Thank you so much ladies!
Gaynor O'Connor
Gaynor O'Connor
2017-07-11T13:42:52+0000
I visited this shop to have a browse as I'm looking for something special for my daughters wedding. The shop isn't too far away from where I live so just went to have a look what they could offer! What a fantastic experience! I didn't really intend buying just yet but with the excellent choice, advice and welcome my husband and I received I ended up buying my outfit and hat to match. No pressure to buy, excellent advice, great range of sizes and incredible range of colours, designs, accessories and one to one service. I would recommend Compton House of Fashion to anyone looking for something special! Thank you ladies!
Alexandra Victoria
Alexandra Victoria
2017-07-03T20:47:22+0000
I visited with my mother on Saturday to try and find her an outfit for my wedding, and just wanted to say how amazing the service we received from Jeanette was. She was so patient, knowledgable and really took the time to listen to us and what we were after. She wasn't pushy at all which we really appreciated. We didn't leave with an outfit but Mum is coming down again for round 2 and is determined to find something! Thank you again Jeanette for all your help it was a pleasure to meet you.
Lynne Ford
Lynne Ford
2017-06-13T11:51:17+0000
I visited the shop yesterday, 12th June, to look for an outfit for Royal Ascot. I recently had surgery to replace my shoulder following a fall, and am very limited with movement in my arm. We were met by Jo, who immediately reassured me that she would assist in any way she could, bearing in mind my current disability. She selected various outfits, was honest in her opinion and persuaded me to try an outfit which I probably would not have chosen, but which is perfect in fit and style for the occasion. I love the hat she selected for me, and I left the shop feeling pleased and happy and looking forward to my day at Ascot with my wonderful family.
Clare Neal
Clare Neal
2017-06-13T10:12:31+0000
I visited this shop yesterday with my daughter to be and we can't praise them enough. Adele who looked after me was amazing, helpful and went out of her way to make sure I was happy, even staying on late as we went past 5pm. I am not a dress person and never dreamt I could experience such a lovely afternoon trying on so many beautiful outfits - the hats are to die for. The dress I purchased is so, so fantastic I can't wait to wear it. You made something which I was not looking forward to into a fab experience so Thank you.
Theresa Spuffard
Theresa Spuffard
2017-06-09T17:10:25+0000
I had a very bad experience with a mother of the bride shop near us in Wales and my sister in law told me how good Compton house of fashion are. My daughter and I visited and I must say Jo was very patient with me and gave me honest feed back. The colour for an outfit I thought would suit me did not but the ones Jo asked me to try were perfect. I had to decide between three so Jo suggested going for a coffee to help clear our heads. The one we choose was so pretty and my daughter said "mum that is how to look like mother of the bride". I had complements all day long. So thank you for a wonderful experience and catering for women who are over a size 12 so well.
Maria Bateman
Maria Bateman
2017-06-02T16:59:14+0000
Lovely friendly staff couldn't have been more helpful. Will recommend to all my friends .
Sophie Blount
Sophie Blount
2017-05-31T17:21:29+0000
Wonderful shop, fab dresses, searched high and low to find the right dress, experienced and friendly staff and food and coffee was yummy too. Thank you Compton house of fashion
Jackie Bull
Jackie Bull
2017-05-28T15:56:48+0000
I visited Compton house of fashion for my 'mother of the bride' outfit. If you have a chance to go, don't miss it! It is fabulous and I was very well looked after by Joy. Everyone was so helpful and knowledgeable. Thank you all so much! Shame I didn't know about you before! Jackie Bull
Sandra Emery
Sandra Emery
2017-05-27T13:34:44+0000
I visited Compton House to look for my mother of the bride outfit and was not disappointed. We were greeted by Julia who made us feel very welcome. After asking several questions about what style, colour and even what colour the bridesmaids dresses were (luckily my daughter had a colour swatch) Julia took us through to an amazing collection of outfits. A selection was chosen and the second one I tried on was just perfect. I did try on several others just to make sure but went back to the second choice. Julia then got me to try on three different styles of hats the last one was the best for me. Then it was time for shoes and handbag. Although I didn't purchase them today I know what colour I need to go for and think I may be back for the shoes as they felt so comfortable. I can only say a big thank you for all the help and attention we received. Would very definitely recommend Compton House of Fashion to anyone looking for a special outfit.
Anne Arbisi
Anne Arbisi
2017-05-22T17:03:02+0000
I visited this wonderful shop (3 1/2 hours drive) on 20th May. Wow what a difference to the reception I had in a shop selling similar outfits near London (1 1/2 hours drive). The staff at Compton House Of Fashion made me feel so welcome, they were busy when I got there so asked me and my husband to go next door for a coffee on them. We were soon seen by the lovely Diane she picked many outfits for me to try on and we soon had a choice of 2. She suggested that we took photos and go have some lunch to try and decide. After lunch I chose the final outfit. I so wish this shop and staff lived nearer to me. They are professional, courteous and are very good at making you feel at ease.
Deb Saunders
Deb Saunders
2017-05-15T11:24:57+0000
I have to say that when I went in I was more than a little nervous as I am not the smallest of ladies and I wanted something that would look stunning for my son's wedding in August... Jo was fantastic and she made me feel very relaxed .. She gave me several dresses to try on and most looked good but when she bought the last one out to me and i tried it on there were tears in my eyes.. It looked so classy.. She then added the matching shoes bag and hat. I can't wait until the wedding now... Thank you so much for all your help Jo..I will certainly recommend you to my friends xx
Jenny Buchanan
Jenny Buchanan
2017-05-13T17:06:00+0000
Thank you for today Jo you were wonderful with me today . It was definitely worth traveling to Wedmore to visit your fabulous shop .
Shirley Tapp
Shirley Tapp
2017-05-12T20:01:52+0000
Rita Jeffers
Rita Jeffers
2017-05-08T14:50:42+0000
I can highly recommend Compton House of Fashion. Julia was very welcoming and made me feel at ease. Julia helped me choose a huge selection of clothes that she thought would suit, and typical I bought the first outfit I tried on. Thanks again Julia
Helen Burnham
Helen Burnham
2017-05-05T05:34:24+0000
This beautiful little store tucked away in a Somerset village is an absolute gem! We traveled from Gloucestershire and couldn't have made a better choice. The service was very accommodating, friendly and helpful. Something I was not looking forward to was a very good experience and made me feel special. Thank you so much.
Tracy Pitt
Tracy Pitt
2017-05-03T15:23:06+0000
I can certainly recommend this lovely place. Felt very comfortable and received excellent service from a professional lady, Tanya 🤗.
Tina Murphy
Tina Murphy
2017-05-02T19:30:59+0000
I visited the shop last Saturday and was helped by Wendy who was so very helpful and kind . I was not pressured in any way and there was an excellent choice if colours and styles . I am very happy with the dress and hat I chose for my sons we'd. It was a very pleasant experience. I would like in particular to thank Wendy . Tina
Sharon Griffiths
Sharon Griffiths
2017-04-28T20:38:56+0000
I visited Compton House on Wednesday with my daughter after making a brief visit the previous Friday looking for an outfit to wear to my sons wedding in August. Adele was extremely helpful on both occasions, picking outfits for me to try on the Friday when I didn't have much time and then when I returned with my daughter I was able to look around at the vast selection and I tried on many. Some I had picked out and some my daughter suggested I try. I ended up purchasing a dress and jacket Adele suggested and it's fabulous. I also bought a matching hatinator. I came away feeling very relaxed and relieved to have found my outfit. Many thanks for all your help.
Melanie Patch
Melanie Patch
2017-04-13T09:40:40+0000
Adele was hugely helpful yesterday in finding an amazing outfit that suited me perfectly for my eldest daughters wedding I don't spend much time shopping, She was very friendly and very helpful ! Nothing was too much trouble .She selected the two dresses that were favourites and I have a dress to die for....! Thank you !
Carol Stone
Carol Stone
2017-04-12T15:01:53+0000
My daughter and I travelled from Devon as we had read such amazing reviews and we were not disappointed. I am very out of my comfort zone dressing up but Liz did an amazing job of making me feel comfortable and relaxed. She understood straight away what would suit me and soon had me in dressing up mode. I came away with a fabulous outfit and hat to match, I can't wait for my daughters wedding now to show it off to everyone. Thank you so much for making the whole experience so enjoyable. If asked I will send everyone to your beautiful shop. Carol x
Sue Clarke
Sue Clarke
2017-04-10T16:49:06+0000
Had a lovely day with my daughter, the bride to be, on Saturday. Lots to choose from and attentive service. I am thrilled with the dress, jacket and hat, all purchased from Compton HoF and now can't wait for the big day. Thank you to all the staff who made me feel a million dollars!
Lizzie Bruno
Lizzie Bruno
2017-04-09T19:48:06+0000
I can highly recommend Compton House of fashion. I was a little nervous about shopping for a mother of the bride outfit as I am not used to dressing up but as soon as I walked through the door of Compton House I was reassured by the friendly staff. Philippa could not have been more helpful, she asked about the general colour scheme for my daughters wedding and then showed me around the huge selection of outfits available. She allowed me to pick out a few outfits to try but also selected a few herself that with her experience she thought would suit. I was offered a lot of advice and felt comfortable and not under pressure to make a decision. I left with a beautiful outfit and hat that I would never have been found myself and am very grateful for the attention I was given. I am now excited and confident about how I will look on the big day. Thank you.
Sue Pullen
Sue Pullen
2017-04-08T18:34:27+0000
I visited Compton House yesterday to find an outfit for my son's wedding in July. I was concerned that I wouldn't find anything that fitted or look right on me but how wrong could I be. Julia immediately put me at ease and picked out outfits in various styles and colours for me to try. It didn't take me long to find the right outfit and in my favourite colours and I felt like a million dollars immediately. They have the most amazing number of matching hats and I was able to try many on before making a final decision. In fact I came away with two hats having chosen one for my niece's wedding also in July. So many thanks to Julia and Wendy for their expertise and great customer service I can now relax and look forward to having a great day at my son's wedding.
Rosie Eyre-Brook
Rosie Eyre-Brook
2017-04-07T18:21:40+0000
Had a very enjoyable experience 2 weeks ago choosing my mother of the bride outfit. I am really pleased with my final choice. Thank you Adele for helping me search through the wonderful range of outfits and letting me discover the styles and colours that suited me the most.
Joy Williams
Joy Williams
2017-04-07T15:54:50+0000
I was recommended to go to Compton House for an outfit for our sons wedding. I was very impressed with the range of stock and the selection of colours. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. They will help by giving you suggestions with matching hats and fascinators, shoes and bags without making you feel pressurised. The staff give a very personalised touch. Thank you to all your staff and special thanks to Liz for helping me make my mind up.
Susan Grenfell
Susan Grenfell
2017-04-06T14:14:59+0000
I went here yesterday and came away with a beautiful dress but quite honestly, there were several I could have bought! Wendy understood exactly what I needed and brought me a whole lot of dresses to try. I never felt any pressure to buy, just to be sure I chose the right one (or none) for me. I am very pleased with my choice and look forward to wearing it at my son's wedding at the end of the month. Thank you.
Peter Higginson
Peter Higginson
2017-04-03T13:20:42+0000
Thank you for the attention and support you gave me when I visited on the two occasions to view and try on outfits for my daughter's wedding. No request was too much. The range of outfits available was very impressive. I was very happy that I was able to leave with an outfit on my arm. Jean Higginson
Charlie Brown
Charlie Brown
2017-04-03T11:21:18+0000
Came dress shopping on Friday with my daughter and her mother in law to be. The staff were brilliant made me try colours and outfits I would never have considered. They were really patient my initial choices didn't suit me and they helped me pick something that did, even managed to make me look slim. It's such an important outfit that it was great to have help. We both left feeling very pleased with our dresses. My husband loves it as well. Thank you so much I can't wait until the wedding now.
Denise Skinner-Smith
Denise Skinner-Smith
2017-04-03T10:34:42+0000
A wonderful shopping experience in your beautiful little boutique for my mother of the bride outfit for my daughters wedding in July. Liz was wonderful and knew exactally what would suit me everything she picked for me was gorgeous. A very big thank you to all but especially to Liz for making it such a pleasure.
Lorraine Clarke
Lorraine Clarke
2017-03-31T20:00:47+0000
Thank you so much Compton House. From the moment I walked in I was overwhelmed with the friendliess of the staff. Adele greeted me and continued to help me whilst I tried on numerous outfits. She got it just right; recognised what I was looking for and didn't become pushy. She took photos of me in my various outfits which I was able to send to my daughter for approval. After a break for lunch I then returned to buy my preferred outfit (with daughter's approval). Am so pleased with my purchase. Other half also approves. Thank you Adele and Compton House. Thoroughly recommend you.
Sophie Lines BSc
Sophie Lines BSc
2017-03-29T16:44:02+0000
As soon as I walked in the door I was given their sole attention to find an outfit for my stepson's wedding and within half an hour my assistant had found me the perfect outfit and hat that she thought would be the right one for me. She was very professional and talented and certainly knew the outfits and what would match. Absolutely fabulous outfit. I would definitely recommend Compton House of Fashion. Cannot wait for the wedding to show it off. On behalf of my mother Helen Downes
Caroline Haley
Caroline Haley
2017-03-27T18:26:35+0000
I visited Compton House of Fashion on Saturday with my daughter. We were greeted by very friendly staff who explained about their vast collection of amazing outfits. Adele was the sales assistant who looked after me. She was helpful and patient and nothing was too much trouble. Many outfits and hats were brought for me to try. I was not rushed or pressured into making a decision, but I did end my afternoon with a super outfit and a very glamorous hat. Thank you so much for making it such a relaxing experience, and I will definitely be back when my second daughter gets married.
Kerry Marshall
Kerry Marshall
2017-03-27T14:35:39+0000
Super Saturday down in Wedmore at Compton House of fashion. Very warm introduction on arrival from the staff. We'd travelled from the Midlands, ( that is my self and my son and daughter) for my outfit for my daughter ( Sophie's wedding in July)!! 🌸💕❤️Excellent service from Adele who listened and took on board any concerns re:outfit. Felt very relaxed and comfortable and felt that there was a genuine interest in getting me sorted. Needless to say after trying about five outfits we found the one!!! Totally in love with it. No pressure re: time or effort in choosing. Lots of genuine, helpful advice. Really feel special in my outfit ant totally thrilled with my 'hatintaor' too! Many thanks again xx super service x💕🌺❤️😘🌺💕
Susan Martin
Susan Martin
2017-03-27T09:42:05+0000
I went to Compton house with my daughters to look for my mother of the bride outfit, well what can I say, the choice of outfits - colours - styles - were just amazing, the selection of hats to were just fantastic, happy to say they had just the dress I was looking for and my daughters just loved it too, which means a lot to me, thank you Philippa, for all your help and now I'm looking forward to wearing it at my daughters wedding 🙂
Jo Robertson
Jo Robertson
2017-03-20T21:02:58+0000
Excellent service. Jo couldn't do enough to make my visit special. The dress, jacket and hat I bought fitted beautifully. The quality of the fabric made the dress feel amazing on. I am sure it will look amazing at my sons wedding
Geoff Ward
Geoff Ward
2017-03-12T14:14:48+0000
I visited Compton House of Fashion on Friday 10th March looking for an outfit to wear to my younger sons wedding. I came away very happy with a complete outfit and cannot thank the staff enough for their patient help and advice. I would thoroughly recommend 'Compton House' to anyone.
Caz Brown
Caz Brown
2017-03-10T15:57:37+0000
Jan Robinson
Jan Robinson
2017-03-06T17:01:05+0000
Thank you to Jo, who made my third time at Compton House of Fashion , just as amazing as the first two trips. She was patient, friendly gave excellent customer service. I have come back with another beautiful outfit. My daughter in law and friends had a really fun time, finished off with a cream tea �
Faith Kendall
Faith Kendall
2017-02-28T09:46:22+0000
I visited Compton House one week ago to choose a Mother of the bride outfit. Special thanks to Diane who was amazing, she was so helpful and patient , nothing was too much trouble.I now have a lovely outfit for my Daughter's wedding in May. I would highly recommend this shop - the service was brilliant.
Ruthie Middle
Ruthie Middle
2017-02-24T18:43:51+0000
I can't thank Jo enough for what she did for me last Saturday. I have been going through a bit of a hard time over the last 15 months & last Saturday I was really down, but by the end of the day I felt much happier as I had an outfit for my daughter's wedding in July & I looked & felt good. I am not on the small side & have been trying to lose weight but not as much as I'd hoped due to bereavement & stress & my confidence was nonexistent. Jo was so caring & took time to listen to what I was looking for and got me to try outfits that I didn't think would suit me but actually did & helped me feel good about myself. She turned my tears into smiles. Thank you so very much Jo you are one amazing lady.
Alison Bushell
Alison Bushell
2017-02-24T09:49:04+0000
I was recommended by a friend to visit this shop for an outfit for my son's wedding. I was busy telling her in the car on our two drive there that I was NOT going to buy as it was my first foray into finding a dress, it was purely a looking exercise! Two hours later after the most fantastic help from Liz I was the proud owner of a beautiful outfit complete with hat. She was really lovely, ran around bringing me dress after dress, seemed to know the stock really well and what would suit me, never pressurised and allowed lots of photos to be taken that I could send to my son for approval! She even plugged me in to their wifi as the signal was not very strong in this lovely old building. The range of stock (over 1000 outfits), range of colours and sizes is truly impressive, all under one roof, so unlike going up to London, you do not have to trail around different shops. I hate shopping generally, but this was a wonderful experience. However, then disaster struck and I had a sleepless night, as the outfit I had chosen was not right for the bride's colours! I immediately telephoned the shop, Wendy was very reassuring, told me to come back, I had 28 days and a full credit. I went back again, this time helped by Philippa, who was equally lovely and patient. I tried on practically every dress in the shop, but have come away with an outfit that I, and more to the point, my son, like even better! Sorry this is rather a long review and I rarely write them, but I was so impressed with this shop and the ladies who helped me and I cannot thank them enough. Wonderful experience, even a nice coffee shop through a little door, all matching accessories available and Philippa told me where I could get shoes dyed to match. Thank you Liz, Philippa and Wendy.
Alana Christina Cosker
Alana Christina Cosker
2017-02-20T15:34:24+0000
What a wonderful experience....staff were extremely friendly,knowledgeable and helpful. The ranges of dresses, hats, accessories and shoes were phenomenal.....you will not be disappointed visiting this place as there is honestly a outfit for everyone in this gem of a shop!
Barbara Harris
Barbara Harris
2017-02-20T11:11:12+0000
The clothes were a bit intimidating for someone who largely wears leggings and jeans. Staff were very helpful and supportive though,
Fiona O'Shea
Fiona O'Shea
2017-02-18T15:56:42+0000
Im writing this on behalf of my Mum, who visited last Monday and was so impressed with the staff, shop layout and variety of stock. Philippa was extremely helpful and professional, making her feel very comfortable and at ease whilst trying various outfits on. Having travelled over two hours, she was glad it was a successful visit and well worth the journey.
Marguerite Daniel
Marguerite Daniel
2017-02-17T12:25:14+0000
I visited the shop on Monday 13th February 2017 in search of a Mother of the Bride outfit. It was very busy & I felt it would have been better to have booked an appointment. However, that said, the staff were lovely & all of them so helpful & attentive. As mentioned by others, the shop is arranged by colours so it was easy to look for what I had in mind. I tried several outfits on & nothing was too much trouble. We went out for a cup of tea & went back again to purchase my outfit. Thanks very much Compton House of Fashion. I shall probably be back for my accessories!!
Charlotte Louise
Charlotte Louise
2017-02-13T09:10:24+0000
Thank you Compton House! Jo was excellent, she quickly understood what i was looking for and importantly, what sort of outfit suited me the best. I'm thrilled with my outfit - looking even more forward to my daughters wedding in June! Thanks again. Sandra Jones.
Celia Davies
Celia Davies
2017-02-11T19:29:08+0000
An incredible shop with an amazing selection of dress particularly in my size 8/10! The staff were so helpful not pushy suggesting different outfits to try nothing was too much trouble and they have the patience of saints! I came out with an amazing outfit and a hat with the wow factor, which normally I would not have even tried on! My second son is getting married in the autumn and I shall return.
Rosemary Penny
Rosemary Penny
2017-02-07T09:22:14+0000
What a joy to visit a shop with such a huge range of stock to choose from, I had an idea which outfit would suit me but Jo (2) suggested that I try additional styles before deciding on my choice. All the staff are extremely helpful and at no time did I feel under pressure to make a purchase, I was asked if I had a budget in mind which is a kind consideration but I knew before my visit I was happy to pay a higher price than on the high street for such a special occasion as my sons wedding.
Jeremy David Walton
Jeremy David Walton
2017-02-05T12:22:02+0000
Loved on behalf of Deborah Parrett: top service for a wedding dress. Recommended
Jacqueline Da-san Martino
Jacqueline Da-san Martino
2017-02-03T15:13:32+0000
I visited Compton House yesterday (after a 2hr drive) for an outfit for my daughter's wedding. I had initially phoned to ask about a specific dress. When I arrived I was very impressed with such a wonderful selection of outfits. I chose my outfit and the assistant (Wendy) was extremely helpful especially with choosing the right hat. The hat was a different make to the dress so she said to go downstairs into the daylight for her to ensure that the colours matched, which they did perfectly. She certainly had a lot of patience with me regarding hatinators and hats. The whole experience was very relaxed, excellent service and I would highly recommend them to anyone. In fact, I have today told the mother of the groom about the shop.
Jemma Phillis
Jemma Phillis
2017-02-02T20:38:59+0000
Visited here a couple of days ago to choose a MOB outfit and my mum and I thought the service and selection was fantastic! We were served by Liz who was the perfect amount helpful. She offered advice on style and colour without being pushy or overbearing. We never felt pressured to purchase or at all rushed even though mum tried on A LOT of outfits. Both mum and I had a lovely day and would highly recommend the shop to those looking for that special occasion outfit.
Chris Griffiths
Chris Griffiths
2017-01-31T15:54:00+0000
Having looked around in South Wales I was disappointed with the choice of Mother of the Bride outfits on sale. I wanted something with a strong colour. My friends and I made the journey to Compton House of Fashion yesterday and I couldn't be more pleased. Tanya was very welcoming, understood immediately what I was looking for and very quickly picked out a couple of things for me to try. Within half an hour I had made my decision and now can't wait for my daughters wedding in July.
Mary Coppard
Mary Coppard
2017-01-30T20:41:54+0000
We had such a friendly greeting which made us feel so at ease. Jo attended to us in an extremely efficient, professional and friendly manner. Although the dress which I thought I wanted wasn't available, this certainly didn't faze Jo who found several suitable dresses for me to try, finally arriving at the 'perfect' one for me. I am a senior bride, I couldn't have asked for a more comfortable experience and I have already recommended a visit to Compton House of Fashion to two close friends. Very many thanks.
Hazel Harding
Hazel Harding
2017-01-25T11:22:43+0000
Compton House has been my favourite shop for very special outfits for a number of years. On Saturday the 14th January I made a visit to buy a wedding outfit for the my brothers wedding in April and a wedding in Canada in October. Again I was not disappointed I was welcomed, helped and advised without feeling rushed. I came away with a beautiful dress which I feel comfortable in and feel very special. A big thank you the staff are a credit to Compton House. Best wishes Hazel Harding
Sammie Chrystall
Sammie Chrystall
2017-01-22T08:33:43+0000
My mother in law to be asked me to write a review as she doesnt have facebook. She was initailly worried about shopping for a dress as wanted to do at her own pace and didnt want to feel like someone was just trying to sell her something. She visited twice and both times she felt really relaxed and didnt feel any pressure at all. The lady on the first visit was great with constructive feedback which really narrowed down a colour and a fit. She bought her dress for the wedding on the second visit off of the back of a recommendation from the lady on the first visit of a dress they had coming in. She is really very pleased. Would easily recommend!! Xx
Caroline Lloyd
Caroline Lloyd
2017-01-20T17:40:17+0000
I decided to visit Compton House after seeing it on the internet and from a recommendation of a friend who had her outfit with you last year. I visited on my own intending just to have a browse as this was my first outing for a 'Mother of the Groom' dress! I was very impressed with the sheer amount of outfits in every shade of colour across all size ranges. Immense selection, and being able to try on my actual size rather than guessing what it would look like from a smaller or larger outfit was perfect. Diane was so attentive and not a bit 'pushy', she was so tactful and so helpful. Diane helped me 'weed' out what didn't suit me and encouraged me to try all designs so I had the best from my visit. After over two hours I finally found my dress but the time flew and I am not normally a happy shopper! But this experience was something else, so calm and I didn't break out into a sweat at all! Normally I am the type to buy it and try at home as I hate the undressing and dressing of a changing room. But the shop is spacious and not claustrophobic. I left with my dress and large (very large) hat extremely pleased with myself. HOWEVER the icing on the cake came when I found the hat I had brought home had a slight flaw, I photographed it and emailed the shop that same night with the details of what was wrong. The next day I received a call first thing from Wendy who was so apologetic and said another hat would be in the post straightaway which I received 2 days later in perfect condition? I have worked in Customer Service for 39 years, and this last act proved Compton House is a cut above the others. My experience with the faulty hat could have been a long drawn out fight for my shoppers rights but instead it was so easy and stress free. Thank you everyone one! I cannot praise you enough, you have got it just right. Lots of choice, in lots of colours and sizes, friendly easy to communicate with staff and an owner who has the customer's at the heart of her business! Keep up the fantastic work.
Janet McClean
Janet McClean
2017-01-09T13:47:43+0000
Two day ago my daughter and I went to buy and outfit for me for her wedding. We eventually narrowed it down to two. I came away with the wild card which my daughter chose. It has gone done a storm on a bridal website. Over 1,000 comments, many saying I should have both! Dozens asked for details of shop, so be prepared girls. Thank you all for your help and kindness.
Penny Cox
Penny Cox
2016-12-31T16:52:24+0000
This was my second visit to Compton House. Jo assisted me in finding the outfit that suited me and fitted the best. There is a huge choice of dresses and the staff are very good at making the visit a pleasurable experience. I am now ready for the February wedding. Thank you ladies
Sonja Van Rensburg
Sonja Van Rensburg
2016-12-23T03:12:50+0000
I ordered my Ronald Joyces dress from Australia for my daughters wedding. The ladies from Compton House made my exerience wonderful from first email I sent uptil I got my dress in front of me. I would recommend anybody not to be scared to order online from Compton House because the Ronald Joyce dresses they sell are more than value for money and with their good service you can only get to the conclusion, to do that again because the size fit was extremely good and the selection go from pretty to more pretty. That was a very big highlight and will not forget the experience soon.
Marzena Jagucka
Marzena Jagucka
2016-11-24T09:13:14+0000
Maggie Vaughan
Maggie Vaughan
2016-11-05T20:04:13+0000
Our Renewal of Vow Ceremony was very quickly put together and held in the presence of my Father, family and friends. I was rushing around looking for a suitable outfit. So pleased that I found Compton House of Fashion. A lady called Jo was extremely helpful and professional and I purchased an Ann Balon Greta three piece suit in a beautiful blue. I would not have managed to find such a lovely outfit without the help of Jo and I am truly grateful to her. Our ceremony was amazing and superb and I will wear the outfit again with pride. Best wishes.
Libby Rolls
Libby Rolls
2016-10-27T13:33:13+0000
This shop is an Aladdin's Cave full of jewels......those being the outfits of all colours and styles, with matching accessories and diamonds of assistants to help you with your choice. I loved every minute of being there and look forward to a return visit in the near future. This is definitely THE PLACE to go for a special occasion outfit. Thank you Ladies.
Penny Bond
Penny Bond
2016-10-27T13:18:16+0000
I am delighted with the Mother of the Bride outfit I found at Compton House. It was exactly the style and design I was looking for, as it had to be a complete contrast to the outfit I had worn for my other daughter's wedding. Liz was incredibly helpful and although I did not make the decision to purchase on the Saturday afternoon, I went back on the Tuesday with a very close and discerning friend and tried it on again. It is now hung up in my wardrobe, along with the matching hat, and any friend who has popped round has been given a sneak preview. I think I will be going back again as I would like to buy one of the stunning hats to go with a previous purchase. Thank you again to all the staff at Compton House, who clearly all love their jobs - who wouldn't!
Tracey Withers
Tracey Withers
2016-10-24T13:37:29+0000
All set for my daughter's wedding in December! Dress, jacket, hat, shoes and bag! Brilliant service made to feel so special lady who helped me was so genuine and patient listened to what I wanted and found it for me! Many thanks for a wonderful afternoon which I will always be grateful for! Xx
Jo Spencer
Jo Spencer
2016-10-24T10:47:32+0000
I was panic stricken about finding the right outfit for my daughters wedding in December - not least because I am short and round. I needn't have feared. What a wonderful calm experience with exceptional care, service, advice etc. After trying on a number of outfits, whittled it down to two, then re-tried them both. In the end the bolder brighter outfit was chosen which I wouldn't have ever picked off the rail in a dress shop. Im wearing a vintage blonde mink jacket with it and feel like a million dollars. . Back this week for a little tweek with the seamstress. Oh, and girls, I have gone for gold sparkly shoes . Would recommend whole heartedly. Thank you Compton House.
Angela Williams
Angela Williams
2016-10-15T13:55:52+0000
Travelled over 2 hours to find this gem of a shop & well worth it! What an incredible range of wonderful outfits & matching accessories. Managed to find ideal mother of the bride & step mother of the bride (yes 2 weddings just 11 weeks apart) outfits. Special thanks to Wendy for her patience & expertise in making this such a special experience.
Shirley Ellis
Shirley Ellis
2016-10-14T16:52:48+0000
What a fabulous experience visiting Compton House was! My daughter is getting married in December and I just couldn't find an outfit. My hairdresser suggested that I visited Compton House where she had got her outfit from and I am so glad I did. It is an Aladdin's cave of beautiful dresses, jackets, hats, shoes and bags. Jo was so helpful suggesting colours and styles for me and very patient as I tried them all on. I settled on a beautiful dress and jacket and perfect matching hat, bag and shoes. The whole experience was relaxed and informal and very enjoyable and to get the whole ensemble - perfect! We even had our lunch in the delightful adjoining cafe next door whilst Jo looked after my purchases. Definitely a five star experience.
Jill Evans
Jill Evans
2016-10-11T17:13:08+0000
Wonderful service from the team at Compton House. Tried on a number of outfits from the extensive selection and bought a lovely dress, jacket and hat which I wore on Saturday. They also gave me invaluable advice on getting shoes and handbag dyed to match and put me in touch with their dressmaker, Susan, who made adjustments to the jacket. These were done quickly, her prices were very reasonable and the end result perfect. The customer service, advice and help was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you so much.
Gill Browness
Gill Browness
2016-10-03T18:23:49+0000
My friend bought her mother of the bride outfit from here and recommended that I visited when I was next visiting from Edinburgh, as my son is getting married next year. I was staying with her last weekend with two other friends as we were celebrating fifty years of friendship! The shop did not disappoint! What a choice! The first dress that I tried on was the winner, but the lovely assistant suggested other dresses to compare. I am thrilled with my purchase and bought a matching hat too. I would have bought shoes and a handbag, but unfortunately they only have full sizes and I am a 4 1/2. I can't imagine why anyone who lives in the area would consider going anywhere else, as the choice was incredible and the assistant was attentive and knowledgeable.
Sherralyn Neil
Sherralyn Neil
2016-09-18T13:04:52+0000
Went here yesterday to find a mother the bride dress for my mum Denise. Found a beautiful dress and a accessorie for her. Liz was so helpful and everyone working that day help to get mum's outfit together. Thank you so much.
Dawn Margaret Thomas
Dawn Margaret Thomas
2016-09-09T21:26:28+0000
Went to Compton House of Fashion earlier this week having seen a Mother of Bride outfit online. What an experience! Beautiful outfits in all colours, designs and styles. My daughter, Beckie helped me chose lots to try and the staff were invaluable in their suggestions and constructive comments, teaming bags, hats and shoes to complete the look. They even suggested Beckie take photos so that I could see front and back views of my favourite outfits.They were patient and did not attempt to pressurise me into purchasing anything. I did not buy the outfit we went to look at however I had a great Julia Roberts(Pretty Woman) moment as I left with a beautiful oufit complete with hat, bag and shoes. Thank you for such a wonderful, exciting experience.
Nicola Broad
Nicola Broad
2016-09-09T17:13:41+0000
Was just looking at first with not much idea of what I wanted. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. I only tried on three out fits, shoes were even provided and of course matching hats! I must say they were all fabulous and I bought my outfit there and then. Thank you ladies I would certainly recommend you to all MOB and Mothers of the groom. My lovely daughter in law to be found you on Pinterest X
Kerry Taylor
Kerry Taylor
2016-09-04T18:14:28+0000
It was a long way from Southampton coming to pick up my mother of the groom dress. All the staff were wonderfully helpful and there was lots of choice with regards to dresses. Would highly recommend this shop to all Future mother of the brides/grooms. Many Thanks Mrs Taylor
Pat Boynes
Pat Boynes
2016-08-31T07:09:16+0000
So impressed with the help and kindnesses shown by the ladies at Compton House of Fashion. I had found this shop via the Internet and planned to visit on my long journey down from Norfolk to Cornwall. After a couple of phone calls in the week, Philippa had selected a rail of dresses for me according to my colour, size and price specifications. Jo looked after me at my visit and gave me honest and welcome advice as I tried on a variety of outfits. I walked away with dress, jacket, hat and shoes and a huge weight off my mind! Mother of the Bride outfit for next year sorted. Thank you so much ladies.
Jayne Wardle
Jayne Wardle
2016-08-30T17:44:54+0000
I was with my friend she has been looking for an outfit for her daughters wedding in 3 weeks she saw the shop on line and liked what we saw so today we went there and I have to say it's amazing so much to choose from the lovely lady that helped my friend was so helpful and ran about looking for outfits and hats and took her time to understand what my friend was looking for its so refreshing to find a lady's shop where your not rushed or where someone says it looks good if it does not my friend found a lovely outfit and a hat we will be back to find a outfit for me as next year my sister gets married thankyou for a lovely experience
Sharon Hubbard
Sharon Hubbard
2016-08-22T21:38:30+0000
This shop is absolutely fantastic. There is so much choice. The staff are very friendly and I would recommend going to visit. The outfits are beautiful. �
Beverley Walker
Beverley Walker
2016-08-20T13:29:19+0000
Got my mother of bride outfit here in 2010 and will be visiting again for my mother of the groom outfit for next year!! We are in Lancashire surrounded by beautiful shops but NONE have the kindness and compassion shown by the staff here. 100% recommended ladies xx
Carolyn Wilson
Carolyn Wilson
2016-08-19T13:18:39+0000
Having struggled to find an outfit for my daughter's wedding in July, Compton House was recommended by the shop in Winchester where she bought her wedding dress. What a brilliant suggestion, the attractive little shop window gives no indication of the huge number of outfits within. All the staff are so attentive and helpful, making suggestions, zipping and unzipping, finding shoes to try with the dresses, and sewing a band in the glorious matching hat so that it fitted perfectly. The outfit was a wow so I went back to get one for my son's wedding in September (two in 6 weeks!). It was another very pleasurable experience and again, although I am a difficult size to fit, I could choose from several outfits. I'm only disappointed I have no more children getting married, but perhaps I will need a dress for another occasion.... Thank you for making what was becoming a stressful time a happy one. Very best wishes, Carolyn
Libby Thornton
Libby Thornton
2016-08-04T13:32:27+0000
Marie Stevens
Marie Stevens
2016-07-16T16:43:00+0000
I was recommended by a friend to go to Compton House of Fashion to get my outfit. My son is getting married in December and didn't realise until I phoned Compton House that the outfits were not seasonal, so I started to look. I did go to local boutique which was very nice, but didn't come away with anything because I had to go to this amazing shop. You walk through the door and you are welcomed by some happy members of staff. The shop on the outside looks quite small but the amount of dresses are unbelievable, every colour and variety of styles to suit all women. Adele the sales lady was amazing, helpful and happy and made me feel extremely comfortable. I could try on as many dresses as I liked, which I did but I saw one on the website that I liked and tried it on and that was the ONE. Nothing compared. I came away a very happy customer and to make my day I showed my partner and he complimented me by saying "he has never seen me look so beautiful and that my son will be as proud as I am", do I need to say any more but THANK YOU ladies.
Karen Davies
Karen Davies
2016-07-09T09:11:35+0000
After looking everywhere for an outfit for my sons wedding, with no success, I was given the name of Compton House by a friend, what a relief, Jo was amazing and very helpful. I tried on lots of things and it was a refreshing change to be told, no that one doesn't suit you try this one. I really felt as though she wanted me to come away with the right outfit rather than just trying to make a sale. Thank you Jo I'm delighted with our choice and can sit back now and relax.
Linda Hubbard
Linda Hubbard
2016-06-21T22:26:15+0000
My daughter is getting married in September and I have been sort of looking for an outfit not really sure of what I wanted to wear. I was worried about someone turning up in the same dress so I did a google search for mother of the bride and found Compton House. Myself and my daughter turned up on Saturday afternoon just to see 'what it was like'. We were both amazed by the quantity of outfits. Arranged by colour and size making choosing an outfit so easy. Tanya greeted us and helped us pick out different styles. I cannot begin to thank Tanya she was helpful reassuring honest and I absolutely felt that she totally knew and understood what I was looking for and how I wanted to feel on the day. I ended up with a difficult choice between 3 totally different amazing outfits and with the guidance of my daughter, Tanya and the rest of the staff I finally made by choice, Tanya found the perfect hat that actually looked amazing, as I've never been able to try one on without my daughter laughing until then. I wasn't hurried or pressured into buying and Tanya was so patient and complimentary. I am absolutely thrilled with my dress jacket and hat and felt so special. The hat was too big and they even managed to sew an extra adjustable band into it so it fitted properly before we left. My first attempt at truly looking for an outfit, and as my daughter said "what a find mum and what a great day and so easy" My advice to anyone looking for an outfit just go to Compton House they know exactly how to make you feel so special with literally 1000s of dresses to choose from. Thank you Tanya so much you were amazing. I can't begin to express how happy I am with my outfit and so pleased that I decided to go to Compton House. Thank you x
Gale Bastin
Gale Bastin
2016-06-06T15:12:56+0000
My daughter took me to Compton house last Saturday to look for a mother of the bride outfit to wear at her wedding in August. (I had been considering having an outfit made for me.) The visit was a first class experience. The staff, particularly Philippa, who was looking after us, went out of her way to try to meet our requirements, and took notice of our budget! The range of garments and accessories was amazing. We were spoilt for choice. We particularly loved the way the outfits were on display in separate colour schemes and of the wide range of hats available. I bought a beautiful dress and jacket, which I love and to cap it all I bought a matching hat, shoes and clutch bag. No need now for many hours spent trying to match my outfit with accessories. There was no pressure felt on how much time we spent trying on outfits, and no pressure placed on us to buy anything. I would highly recommend Compton house to future mothers of brides.
Natalie Smith
Natalie Smith
2016-05-27T12:02:09+0000
After searching Cardiff for my Mums Mother of the Bride outfit we started to give up hope of finding the perfect dress! Then we stumbled across this little gem! We were a little apprehensive of driving all that way but this was really one of our last hopes! We walked in and we were instantly amazed by the volume of outfits to try on! This is when we realised that there must be something here! We had an amazing lady call Jo help us who went out of her way to find the perfect outfit! She took my mum out of her comfort zone and made her feel a million dollars and found an amazing dress and jacket complete with a matching hat! I would recommend anyone to go here as the service we received was outstanding and nothing was too much trouble! Thanks again Jo for making my mum feel so special! Xx
Micky Benton
Micky Benton
2016-05-21T08:53:01+0000
After visiting many mother of the bride shops this came out on top by a long way, the staff were extremely helpful and patient!! There are absolutely hundreds of outfits to choose from and with the expertise help from the staff you will find the right one. Wedmore village is a lovely place in its self. Good luck
Teresa Phillips
Teresa Phillips
2016-05-19T19:49:14+0000
I visited Compton house of fashion on Saturday 14th may 2016 and I have to say what a wonderful boutique it really is, it was my second visit as I was there in September 2014, the service you receive is excellent the staff really do care that you go away happy, nothing is to much trouble and you can try on as many outfits as you need to, the lady who helped me choose the right outfit was Tanya she was so patient, you really need to try this boutique for yourself you won't be disappointed
Jenny Elliott
Jenny Elliott
2016-05-09T22:29:55+0000
Oh how I wished I'd come here first instead of waiting until after all the high street trials & tribulations- Jo was fantastic, had my 'style' and requirements sussed in a few quick questions, recognised that I was 'out of my comfort zone' in shopping for that special outfit for mother-of-the-bride...she helped me find 'the one' in no time at all, accessories sorted in a subsequent visit, such friendly, helpful staff. Thank you.
Caroline Jenkins
Caroline Jenkins
2016-05-02T11:46:54+0000
Called in a few months ago, then re visited last week. Tried on numerous mother of the bride outfits. Excellent range of dresses all arranged by colour. Bought an outfit in a colour I would not normally choose. Staff very thoughtful and have an awareness of what styles and colours suit the individual. Suggested hats and accessories to go with the outfit. Overall a brilliant shopping experience.
John Harris
John Harris
2016-04-26T14:07:33+0000
Really impressed, one of the most enjoyable experiences I have had. Thought I would be so full of indecision but that was soon alleviated by the wonderful assistance from staff member Liz.She so put my mind at rest with the co-ordinating of accessories to match the outfits.I was so pleased with my choice and the selection is amazing. I have already told several of my friends about Compton House including family members that are going to my sons wedding. I look forward to the day in July when I know I will be able to do my son proud as His mother.
Jill Osborne
Jill Osborne
2016-04-26T13:54:21+0000
This is a brilliant place to purchase that special outfit. So much choice but still very easy to find the right colour and size due to the way everything is set out. Jo looked after me when I purchased my outfit and was extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. So lovely to have that extra bit of care and attention that I hadn't experienced anywhere else in my search for my Mother of The Bride outfit. Thoroughly recommend this boutique and wish I had come here first. It is worth making the journey here. Just can't wait for the wedding now!
Jean Hopegood
Jean Hopegood
2016-04-23T19:28:13+0000
An absolute gem in beautiful Wedmore . Having explored the website initially I then spent 2 hours in the most beautiful boutique. Its just so organised , all colour coded , arranged in sizes, hats shoes all available to match . There really is something for everyone. I tried on so many colours and styles and at no point was i rushed into decision making . The staff are just lovely .... all of them ! Thank you so much HOC , I can't wait to wear the beautiful outfit you helped me choose for my sons wedding.
Rose Perrett
Rose Perrett
2016-04-18T20:53:09+0000
I visited this fantastic boutique on Saturday, with my daughter, to look for my 'Mother of the Bride ' outfit. What can I say, this place is absolutely AMAZING. There is so much choice & nothing is too much trouble. I did buy my outfit, so can now relax until the big day in November. I would like to say a massive thank you to Jo, for her help with dressing me, I felt really special, just what you want when looking for a WOW outfit. Love this place & highly recommend it, oh & the dinning rooms next door have excellent choice of home made cakes too! Thank you once again xx
Madeleine Cousins
Madeleine Cousins
2016-04-13T15:47:01+0000
Wow, wow, wow this is an amazing shopping experience! I live in South Wales and visited with my daughter last week looking for my mother of the bride outfit for her wedding in August..we were amazed at how much choice there was and in all the colours imaginable....we were assisted by a lovely lady called Adele whom I have never met before but after a short chat she knew exactly what I wanted and what suited me....in fact I only tried on one style of outfit but in two beautiful colours and our decision was made. I just can't wait to wear my beautiful outfit in August and I know where I'll be coming back to when my son decides to get married thank you very much for an incredible morning.xxxx
Christine Brewis
Christine Brewis
2016-04-09T18:33:56+0000
I was dreading choosing an outfit for the wedding of my son, but the whole experience was made so much easier by the lovely Diane. She made me feel that nothing was too much effort and managed to find a fantastic outfit which I love and can't wait to wear. Thanks for making the whole process seamless and for the most perfect hat! I look forward to another visit - a wedding perhaps.
Allyson Burgess
Allyson Burgess
2016-04-09T16:16:44+0000
After spending months looking for an outfit for my daughter's wedding in August I found my dream outfit at Compton a House of Fashion. I don't normally wear dresses and to be honest was extremely stressed about finding the right outfit. Although I gave the staff strict instructions on what I wanted they persuaded me to try on outfits outside my comfort zone. I'm so glad they did, the staff are so experienced they know exactly what will suit you. I love my outfit and feel like a million dollars in it, not the frump i normally feel. Thanks to all the staff for their patience.
Caroline Brand
Caroline Brand
2016-03-31T21:49:54+0000
Gemma White
Gemma White
2016-03-29T20:46:42+0000
I am writing on behalf of my mum Julie Bushnell who purchased a beautiful Mother of the Bride outfit for my wedding in September. Because we were travelling from Southampton we were unsure of what the outcome of the trip would be as she only saw the outfit on the website in a different colour. After a long but very straightforward drive we arrive to what looked to be a lovely little boutique turned out to be an endless store of beautiful hats and dresses and we were all blown away by the sheer size of the store as well as the huge selection of outfits. Lovely Wendy have very kindly put the outfit my mum asked for aside for a few hours as we had to travel so far and as soon as she put it on that was it. She didn't want to try anything else on and she also got a hat with it. The customer service was fantastic, they went the extra mile as the hat was too big and they put in an elastic band so it fit better whilst we went for lunch. Considering that the shop was extremely busy they still managed to do this for her. The quality of outfit is exquisite and speaks volumes when 2 other ladies also wanted the same outfit in the same colour. What was also lovely was that different members of staff knew what outfit she tried on and the compliments were endless which made her feel fabulous and even more certain of her choice. We all left very happy especially my mum who was beaming from ear to ear all the way home. The main worry for her was the risk of a guest wearing the same outfit as her but because the outfits are very bespoke in this store she didn't have to worry. We all highly recommend this store and if another big occasion comes along or my nan can't find anything then we will be back!!
Gwyn Grant
Gwyn Grant
2016-03-21T13:47:53+0000
Speaking on behalf of my daughter Mercedes. We visited Compton House on Saturday to look for an outfit for her daughter's wedding in July. We had both looked at their outfits on line many times so expected to have a good selection to try. Were we surprised, yes indeed. The shop looks quite small from outside but wow, welcome to the Tardis !! Gorgeous shop filled with super frocks in every colour imaginable and all the shoes, bags and other finery a girl could wish for. We were greeted warmly by Jean who couldn't have been kinder and more helpful. She completely understood Mercedes requirements, was very knowledgable about stock and what did or didn't suit. Mercedes was able to try lots of lovely outfits without any rush. Lovely comfortable fitting areas and nothing too much trouble. We both had a lovely time and yes, found the perfect outfit. Very very happy Mother of the Bride and Grandma !!! Thanks again Jean and Wendy for all your help. Will send you photos of our big day !! Very best wishes from Mercedes and Gwyn xxx
Emma Stott
Emma Stott
2016-03-15T20:36:58+0000
We went here to look for my mum's mother of the bride outfit and it was great. A tardis of dresses, shoes, bags, hats, jewellery, the works. The lovely Jo helped us find the one and mum looked fabulous!! I just can't wait to see my mum in her outfit on my wedding day now. Thanks Jo.
Marcelle Murray
Marcelle Murray
2016-03-15T08:02:13+0000
We came here, rather late in the day, en route to Cornwall, in search of my mother of the groom outfit! While my husband walked our dogs, I tried on a few outfits - the choice is enormous - but for me it was literally 3rd time lucky! I'm so thrilled with my choice - this was really the quickest, easiest, most stress-free experience ever! Thank you. I'm sure I'll be back.......
Rachel Searley
Rachel Searley
2016-03-13T20:46:46+0000
We visited Compton HOF to look for my Mum's mother of the bride outfit. Diane was so helpful and patient. She gave us great ideas of different outfits and my Mum has come away with the most amazing outfit. Thanks again Diane for all your help.
Sue Hunt
Sue Hunt
2016-03-10T15:57:36+0000
First time ever I've been to Compton House of fashion, I thought It would take for ever to find an outfit, how wrong was I, within an hr I had my complete outfit, can't thank Adele enough such a lovely lady, nothing was too much trouble. I am one very happy customer thank you again. 🙂 Xx
Josie Latty
Josie Latty
2016-03-07T22:04:38+0000
An excellent shopping experience with Diane. She was extremely helpful, pleasant and patient. I felt she really cared that I got the right outfit for me. Would recommend to anyone.
Roger Smallridge
Roger Smallridge
2016-03-07T19:27:50+0000
Having checked out the great website we made it our first shop to start looking for an outfit for our daughter's wedding and visited on 2nd March. What an amazing choice of colours and styles! We were warmly greeted by Jo who looked after us exceedingly well, listening to my thoughts as well as making her own suggestions but never in a pushy way. I tried on many outfits with hats, shoes and bags ( and even a necklace in one case!) too to get the complete look. Jo was endlessly patient and made me feel totally relaxed and able to make decisions without feeling rushed or pressured. She made my day of choosing an outfit for one of the most important occasions in my life extremely special and myself, my husband and daughter had a brilliant time! I chose an outfit I love which I'm so looking forward to wearing on my daughters very special day. Thank you SO much to Jo and Compton House of Fashion from the Smallridge family, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the shop to anyone.
Alison Biddiscombe
Alison Biddiscombe
2016-03-05T13:34:28+0000
I visited CHoF with my sister to have a look at outfits for my daughters wedding and what a range of stunning outfits they have! So many colors and styles, all with matching hats, shoes and bags. The ladies are all very welcoming and Liz & Wendy are knowledgeable, helpful and more importantly extremely patient. 3 hours later and after a sneaky cream tea next door (to help with the decision making process) we both came away with beautiful outfits for the big day. Thank you so much ladies!
Babs Williams
Babs Williams
2016-02-29T23:33:21+0000
Polite, friendly and so helpful. I feel a million dollars in the outfit I purchased for my wedding. Thank you!
June Hitchen
June Hitchen
2016-02-29T21:00:36+0000
I recently visited this fabulous shop to look at outfits for my daughters wedding in July 2016. The reception was excellent, the staff were exceptional and they made this unique shopping experience memorable and totally enjoyable. I left with a beautiful outfit which I adore and can't wait to wear.Thank-you Compton House of Fashion and to two lovely ladies Kathy and Wendy. I will be back for another outfit for my Sons wedding in 2017 X
Mandy Lavin
Mandy Lavin
2016-02-27T19:08:10+0000
Thank you so much Jo2 for all your help today I went in feeling very nervous and came out delighted. Excellent service.
Emily McConnell
Emily McConnell
2016-02-26T13:50:10+0000
We drove 75 miles to choose my mum's mother of the bride outfit and we weren't disappointed. Everyone was fantastic, excellent service thank you.
Sue Bessex
Sue Bessex
2016-02-25T17:49:19+0000
Bought a dress for my daughters wedding. Great service. Tanya was so helpfull and patient.
Tina Butcher
Tina Butcher
2016-02-22T20:01:42+0000
After already having 2 dresses put on hold in my local town I wanted to take a trip to CHOF just to see what they had to offer after seeing their website. I was looking for a dress for my daughters wedding and wow what a choice.. Jo meet us at the door and was so friendly and attentive, getting to know my likes and dislikes and soon had a rail full of dresses for me to try on. There was no pressure to buy and after 2 hours Jo suggested we went for something to eat, and have a think about the dresses I had fallen in love with. This is such a beautiful shop I defy anyone not to find their perfect outfit. Thank you Jo I'm so looking forward to wearing my beautiful dress.
Michele Crumb
Michele Crumb
2016-02-22T18:45:24+0000
Have visited for the first time today and had an excellent reception and service. I had already bought my outfit but was wanting a hat and shoes/handbag. I got just the hat I was after and it will be finished individually for me to exactly match my outfit. Sadly couldn't gets shoes but was recommended another shop where I got just what I wanted. The staff do this everyday but still make you feel very special. Sadly did not get the name of the lady who looked after he but thanks to all. Would definitely recommend the shop to anyone looking for an outfit.
Hilary Barnes
Hilary Barnes
2016-02-22T14:07:16+0000
A great day as always at this wonderful shop.Over the years I have bought many outfits for weddings and Saturday was no exception.I bought two.Thank you to all the help from Wendy and her fantastic team.They don't squeeze you into outfits that don't Hilary Barnes Bristol
Margaret Pugh
Margaret Pugh
2016-02-14T15:38:59+0000
After a long search for a suitable wedding outfit On-line I visited Compton House on a recommendation this week. It makes a huge difference trying outfits on and the dress I chose was not what I had imagined I would chose but I love it. Thank you!
Annie George
Annie George
2016-02-13T17:24:39+0000
Just bought my outfit for my daughters wedding in July, would highly recommend a visit to this beautiful shop. Helpful, friendly and knowledgeable staff. We were Adele 's first customers and can't thank her enough for making our visit so productive ( knew instantly which colour suited me) now just shoes n bag to buy, thank you so much. Will definitely be returning
Sarah Hayter
Sarah Hayter
2016-02-10T08:58:05+0000
Very helpful staff, had a lovely few hours chosing an outfit for my sons wedding on Monday, there was no pressure to buy which was lovely. Both myself and my mum would highly recommend a visit.
Jill Sampford
Jill Sampford
2016-01-28T21:21:36+0000
Thank you all for such a wonderful day. Choosing an outfit for my daughters wedding was a daunting prospect but Jo made the task seem very easy with her care and attention. The wonderful selection of outfits and accessories in colour co-ordinated arrangement made for a lovely spectacle . The advice given was greatly appreciated and always given in such a friendly and honest manner . Thank you all once again and I will be back later in the year as one of my other daughters is getting married .
Chris Riley
Chris Riley
2016-01-28T16:28:48+0000
We travelled down from Usk expecting a 'centre of excellence' one-stop shop that would fulfil our needs. What met us on arrival exceeded our expectations - this was THE place to come. The staff latched on to our thoughts without overwhelming us with any sales pitch. It has to be remembered that the excellent and extensive range of high quality outfits held here sell themselves but even so the experience and guidance of the staff ensured that we had a comfortable experience. and we give them our thanks. Don't mess around at department stores, go to the professionals at Compton House of Fashion and let them ease the stress of this part of the journey.
Helen M Herbert
Helen M Herbert
2015-11-29T22:43:23+0000
This is the second time I have purchased a Wedding outfit from Compton House. The first time was 7+ years ago when 2 days before my son got married I had to purchase a new outfit for the event. The staff were so friendly, helpful and knowledgable about what would suit me, it turned a disaster into a success. That is why I travelled down from Wetherby in Yorkshire to visit again to purchase an outfit for my daughters Wedding. Once again all the staff were very welcoming and helpful, it's really special to get the outfits for both my children's weddings from the same lovely place. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.
Alison Hatton
Alison Hatton
2015-11-23T19:11:26+0000
Spent a few very pleasurable hours last Saturday at Compton House choosing my stunning outfit for my daughters wedding next year. Huge thanks to the very patient staff who were very kind and attentive. Would highly recommend a visit, especially if you are not sure what colour or style of outfit suits you.
Sue Ball
Sue Ball
2015-11-20T13:19:16+0000
I recently visited Compton Fashion, Wedmore to purchase a outfit for my daughters wedding. I cannot praise the staff enough for the way they helped me with choicing my outfit, they were so helpful, honest but never to pushy. They made me feel as though I was the only one in the shop. Thank you to you all for your help.
Gerry Morant
Gerry Morant
2015-11-04T17:23:24+0000
I would highly recommend Compton House of Fashion. A huge variety of outfits and the service was excellent. Thank you Wendy for all your advice in helping me choose an outfit for my daughters wedding.
Wendy Blethyn
Wendy Blethyn
2015-11-02T17:37:45+0000
Travelled down to Compton House of Fashion from South Wales today to look for an outfit for my sons wedding. The shop itself was amazing, full of beautiful clothes, hats and shoes, something for all occasions. I'd like to say a special thanks to Jo who was amazing and helped me try on so many different outfits until I found the one I loved. Thanks again for all your help and assistance. Will be visiting again with my sister. Wx
Gary Jane Warburton
Gary Jane Warburton
2015-11-02T17:18:57+0000
It is my daughters wedding in July 2016 so thought I should start to have a look at what I might like to wear. So with a friend who's daughter is also getting married in 2017 we went to Compton house of fashion as we had heard about it. I really only went to look not even thinking I would come home with anything. Tried on one outfit that my friend and Jo the lady that was helping us said looked lovely. I really didn't know what to do and I tried the outfit on a few times in different sizes. Also complemented by other members of staff. Everybody was very patient and I went off to discuss with my friend and contact daughter. Went back to buy the outfit and they said they hoped I would buy it as they all thought how lovely it looked. Just would like to say a big thank you for all your help and will recommend you to others.
Anne Louise Sharp
Anne Louise Sharp
2015-10-30T13:22:25+0000
A friend not only suggested but took me to Compton House of Fashion, and it was a real first for me as shopping experiences go - not a process I often embark on. Diane could not have been kinder or more helpful, had a great eye for suggestions, and it was lovely discovering that quite a few outfits looked better on than I would have imagined. I ended up spending more than planned, but with the reassurance that I had something that felt very, very good and saved me much trekking round more usual haunts.
Julie Skinner
Julie Skinner
2015-10-28T09:47:57+0000
I visited Compton House of Fashion with two of my daughters,one of whom is the bride to be... The collection is fantastic and your sure to find something that suits. As soon as we walked in the lady namely Jo H was so helpful. She asked about the wedding colours and advised me on what colours would suit me as mother of the bride and to make me stand out along with my daughter. I found the perfect dress and a hat to match (I don't really do hats but the whole outfit was perfect) I am so looking forward to wearing it. Thankyou Jo and Compton House of Fashion Julie
Karen Moloney
Karen Moloney
2015-10-27T19:48:23+0000
I went to the Compton house of fashion to purchase a outfit for my wedding in November I must say that I wasn't disappointed, the girl's were so helpful and friendly. My outfit is beautiful and I am so pleased with it.. Many thanks karen saffery.
Dawn Low
Dawn Low
2015-10-27T17:48:49+0000
I would highly recommend this shop if you are looking for a special wedding outfit. Stunning outfits and first class attentive service. I am not normally someone who enjoys clothes shopping but I was put at ease and really enjoyed my visit with my daughter.
Lynne Searle
Lynne Searle
2015-10-27T15:59:24+0000
I must say I had a wonderful experience at the Compton house of fashion. The staffs were so helpful and kind. Nothing was to much trouble. It made my day as mother of the groom . My outfit was perfect in every way . I couldn't have done it without your help Thankyou so very much. Lynne Searle Bristol
Andrea Foxall
Andrea Foxall
2015-10-06T18:27:17+0000
Loved our visit to Compton House of Fashion. I really don't like shopping but I was put at my ease the moment we entered the shop. Our lady didn't even ask my size, she knew instantly what would fit and suit me. Tried on three outfits and bought the first one I tried! We weren't rushed at all and I can honestly say it was a very pleasurable experience. My daughter's wedding was this Saturday just gone and I had so many compliments on my outfit - I felt so good! Thank you to everyone at Compton House of Fashion.
Anita Whitehead
Anita Whitehead
2015-10-06T10:45:38+0000
I travelled up with my mother a couple of weeks ago, to source weddings outfits for my daughters wedding - what a great selection of stunning outfits! We were greeted by friendly staff who were very attentive, and didn't rush us, so the whole experience was very pleasurable. Needless to say we found the perfect outfits so came away very happy. I would not hesitate in recommending Compton House of Fashion - well worth the trip! Thanks ladies
Next Reviews